Stories of the Underqualified Intern: Part II

Some of you may be wondering what exactly I am doing in Prague besides taking Instagram pictures of beautiful parks, scenic beer gardens, and entertaining games of Frisbee.

IMG_2944

Well most of the time I am either attending classes in a 13th century fortress, or walking up the hill to the 13th century fortress. But lately I have been expanding my horizons. I tried a new gelato place on Monday. I tried a new burger recipe on Tuesday. I gave some directions to a lost couple in Spanish on Wednesday. I sat in a palace with some European intellectuals on Thursday. I got retweeted by the US Embassy on Friday.


(Czech out the Palace^^)

Wait. What.

Honestly, pinch me because I need to be reminded that this is my life. Yes walking up to a 13th century fortress for class is surreal but sitting in a palace with a former UN Security Council representative, that is where my dreams come true.

I recently took an internship position with a public research institute here in Prague. When I took the job as the PR intern for an academic institution I thought that I would be in charge of passing out pamphlets about global warming or sharpening Ticonderoga pencils with our logo. I had no idea that my casual duties would include summarizing comments of the US Embassy Director for the Twitter-sphere and getting to listen to journalists that risk their lives everyday to evoke change.

IMG_2885

As my institution hosted an International Symposium this past week, I was working packed 12 hour days. Many would complain about “boring” days of listening to people talk but I’m not. Why? Well mainly because I’m a nerd.

But I remember trying to explain my decision to go abroad to a dear friend and claiming that, “I just feel stale: intellectually, physically, spiritually. I need to be inspired again.”

Between the bubbles of the carbonated Mattoni water bursting on my tongue and the passion flowing from the speakers’ souls, I felt inspired. I don’t know how I was deemed qualified for this position… but I’m not asking any questions.

3d48336b38bca7a4b9d0dada777df195

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You should be proud to be a nerd as you say. Happy you are in love with your life and sharing it with all of us. Keep posting.
    Love you, Aunt Tracy

    Like

  2. Somehow just tuning into this blog now, but my my do you have a way with words! Happy to hear that the inspiration is reemerging, and hoping that it continues to do so. Sending you so much love and joy from just a few countries away. I feel so much happiness for you, Mac! Xox

    Like

Leave a comment